European Cultural Convention

The European Cultural Convention was adopted on 19 December 1954 in Paris (France) and came into force on 5 May 1955 (Council of Europe Treaty Series no. 018). It is open for signature by member states and for accession by non-member states and the European Community.

The purpose of this Convention is to develop mutual understanding among the peoples of Europe and reciprocal appreciation of their cultural diversity, to safeguard European culture, to promote national contributions to Europe’s common cultural heritage respecting the same fundamental values and to encourage in particular the study of the languages, history and civilisation of the Parties to the Convention. The Convention contributes to concerted action by encouraging cultural activities of European interest.

Access the link here.

Share this post